Society and gym pressure on females today

‘5 top tips to a skinny waist and a big booty’… seriously?

Ahhh, I swear seeing this everywhere drives me insane! Are we really teaching females that this is the best way to be? I’m all for staying fit and healthy, but I honestly cannot stand the way society promotes the ‘ideal’ body to females. I’ve always struggled with body image, self-confidence etc. and when I was younger I never realised just how bad society is for punishing girls for being ‘too fat’ or ‘too skinny’ or what not, but now I can see just how easy it is for females to suffer from a lack of body confidence.

We’re now living in a society that promotes fit, strong and healthy females, which I love! The fitness industry for women is growing more and more everyday. I think this is amazing as it’s a challenge for females who train hard and eat well to be recognised, so the fact that more and more women are promoting this lifestyle is amazing.

However, the one thing that aggravates me the most is that we are still putting this ‘image’ into females heads of what they should look like. Without realising there is this growing pressure on females to look and live a certain way. I completely agree with the fact that we should eat healthy and exercise consistently. I don’t, however, agree that we should make females feel as though when exercising they should aim to achieve a desired look. When you go to the gym or when you go and do physical activity, do it for YOU!

Complete an exercise because YOU enjoy it, don’t do an exercise because you think you need a huge bum and a miniature waist, if that’s what you want, okay BUT if it’s not what you’re happy doing, or truly want then don’t follow fashion. Females are constantly judged for being too bulky or being too small, we seriously can’t win. I honestly believe that the amount of pressure on females in society today is ridiculous. If we’re not in the gym training for a flat stomach and a fat ass we’re in the wrong but if we are in the gym lifting and not aiming to achieve this so say ‘perfect image’, we’re also wrong.

Ever since I’ve stopped worrying about what society looks for and what’s considered the best way to be, I’ve been so much happier, and feel soooo much more confident. I now enjoy exercise as I can do what I feel happy doing and what I personally enjoy. I don’t do it because it’s the best exercise to do or to look a specific way. I loooove going to the gym and eating well and I’m now exploring and experimenting more with what I eat and what and how I train, because I’m more open minded about why I do it. I don’t do it because I feel like I have to look a certain way.

Basically what I’m trying to say is, do what makes you happy and what you enjoy. Whether that’s tonnes of cardio or lifting weights or nothing at all. Simply do you!!
xoxo

Leave a Reply

